Deuteronomy 32:2
“My doctrine shall drop as the rain, my speech shall distill as the dew, as the small rain upon the tender herb, and as the showers upon the grass.”

There is a stillness required for the accumulation of dew; consequently,  the dew point could be thought of as a still point. Temperature, barometric pressure, relative humidity– these all play a part in the accumulation of dew, but stillness above all, it seems to me, is most necessary. Dew never falls on a stormy night.
There are many factors that contribute to our relationship with God which can actually prevent stillness. Ceaseless activities and voices—good ones– can prohibit us from reaching the still point which allows God’s grace to descend on our restless hearts. There simply isn’t enough time in our lives to read all the good books, attend all the good seminars and Bible studies, scour the endless internet articles and sermons to which we feel guiltily obliged, as well as do our work, spend time building relationships or unwinding in endless activities, all the while knowing that time alone with God in prayer and in His Word is the real secret to growth. Sometimes our answer to the dilemma is a commitment to working harder at giving God the priority of our time; ironically, however, the harder we work to achieve stillness the more it eludes us. Spending unhurried and undistracted time with God is both simple and complex.
When my youngest son was a toddler, his morning routine was to sit in my lap. He seemed to need that time with me, and I loved that time with him. I was a stay at home Mom, which afforded me the one thing he needed: time. Once he asked me, “How long can we sit here?” I answered, “As long as you want.” It was simple. I had time; he wanted time. He saw his life as an endless stream; I saw my time with him as fleeting and wanted to cling to every moment while I could because I loved him. It wasn’t mere routine for him: he loved me. My lap gave him peace and security and joy. Had I allowed the storm of the To Do List to interrupt that time, the drops of dew would never have formed, and I would have regretted it for the rest of my life.
Conditions for the condensation of water vapor must be right, and that takes time. Rushing time with God devalues it to a mere routine. There is no love in it. Like my son, I must approach God’s lap with an attitude not of “How long before I can get down?” but “How long can I stay? “

